Daniel Philpott is Associate Professor of Political Science at The Joan B. Kroc Institute for International Peace Studies, University of Notre Dame and the author of Revolutions in Sovereignty: How Ideas Shaped Modern International Relations (Princeton University Press, 2001) .

James Kitfield is Senior Correspondent for the National Journal Magazine and author of War & Destiny: How The Bush Revolution In Foreign And Military Affairs Redefined American Power (Potomac Books, 2005)

Vaclav Havel is a playwright, poet, essayist, former president of the Czech Republic, and was one of the leading dissidents and outstanding moral voices of the Cold War. He is the author of, among many other works, The Art of the Impossible : Politics as Morality in Practice (Knopf, 1997)

Criton M Zoakos is president of Leto Research, Inc. and was a formerly a columnist for the Asia Times.

Kofi Annan is the seventh Secretary-General of the United Nations, in which role he was awarded the Nobel Peace Prize in 2001.

John Fonte is a Senior Fellow at the Hudson Institute and Director of the Center for American Common Culture.

Marc F. Plattner is coeditor of the Journal of Democracy, a quarterly publication that addresses the problems and prospects of democracy around the world, and co-director of the International Forum for Democratic Studies.

Roger Scruton is an Academic philosopher, Writer, Freelance journalist, Political activist, Editor, Publisher, Composer, and Broadcaster. He writes regularly for The Spectator, New Statesman, Times of London, Country Life and numerous other publications. He is the author of The West and the Rest: Globalization and the Terrorist Threat (ISI Books, 2002)

Jeane J. Kirkpatrick, ambassador to the United Nations during the Reagan administration, is a fellow at the American Enterprise Institute. She is the author of Legitimacy and Force: National and International Dimensions (Transaction Publishers, 1988)

Fred Gedrich is a senior policy analyst at Freedom Alliance and a former State and Defense Department official.

Jeremy A. Rabkin is associate professor of government at Cornell University. He is the author of The Case for Sovereignty: Why the World Should Welcome American Independence (American Enterprise Institute Press, 2004), Law without Nations? : Why Constitutional Government Requires Sovereign States (Princeton University Press, 2005) and Why Sovereignty Matters (American Enterprise Institute Press, 1998)

Paul K. Driessen is a senior fellow with the Committee For A Constructive Tomorrow and Center for the Defense of Free Enterprise , nonprofit public policy institutes that focus on energy, the environment, economic development and international affairs. He is the author of Eco-Imperialism: Green Power, Black Death (Merril Press, 2003)

Stuart Taylor Jr. is a Nonresident Senior Fellow at The Brookings Institute, a columnist at National Journal, and a Contributing Editor at Newsweek.

James Kalb is the proprietor of On to Restoration!, the center on the web for counterrevolutionaries, restorationists, and the unreconstructed.

Yoram Hazony is Director of the Shalem Center, an institute for Jewish social thought and Israeli public policy based in Jerusalem and a frequent contributor to its quarterly journal, Azure. He is the author of The Jewish State: The Struggle for Israel’s Soul (Basic Books, 2001) and The Dawn: Political Teachings of the Book of Esther (Shalem Press, 2000)

Francis Fukuyama is Bernard L. Schwartz Professor of International Political Economy and
Director of the International Development Program at The Paul H. Nitze School of Advanced International Studies, Johns Hopkins University. He is the author of
The End of History and the Last Man (Harper Perennial, 1992) and State-Building: Governance and World Order in the 21st Century (Cornell University Press, 2004)

Lieutenant Colonel Ralph Peters (USA, Ret.) is a columnist at the New York Post and a member of USA TODAY’s board of contributors. He is the author of numerous books—both novels and non-fiction—including Fighting for the Future: Will America Triumph? (Stackpole Books, 1999) and his most recent, New Glory : Expanding America’s Global Supremacy (Sentinel HC, 2005)

Lee Harris is a Contributing Editor at Tech Central Station. He is the author of Civilization and Its Enemies : The Next Stage of History (Free Press, 2004), which expands greatly on the essay included herein.

Michael Walzer is Professor of Social Science at the Institute for Advanced Study in Princeton, NJ, and co-editor of Dissent. He is the author of Just and Unjust Wars: A Moral Argument With Historical Illustrations (Basic Books, 1977) and some of his recent writing are collected in Arguing About War (Yale University Press, 2004)

Robert Cooper, Director General of External and Politico-Military Affairs for the Council of the European Union, is one of Britain’s most senior diplomats and an influential advisor to British Prime Minister Tony Blair. He was chosen one of the Top 100 Public Intellectuals –along with Vaclav Havel, Michael Walzer, and Francis Fukuyama–by Foreign Policy and Britain’s Prospect magazine. He is the author of The Breaking of Nations: Order and Chaos in the Twenty-First Century (Grove Press, 2004)

Ramesh Ponnuru is a senior editor for National Review.

Jonathan Rauch is a senior writer for National Journal magazine.

George W. Bush, former Managing Partner of the Texas Rangers Baseball Team and former Governor of Texas, is the 43rd President of the United States of America.

Walter Russell Mead is Henry A. Kissinger Senior Fellow in U.S. Foreign Policy at the Council on Foreign Relations. He is the author of Power, Terror, Peace, and War : America’s Grand Strategy in a World at Risk (Knopf, 2004) and Special Providence: American Foreign Policy and How It Changed the World (Routledge, 2001) which further elucidates his argument about the Jacksonian tradition.

David Warren is a columnist for the Ottawa Citizen and Sunday Spectator and writes the Idler essay for Crisis magazine.

Jed Rubenfeld is Robert R. Slaughter Professor of Law at Yale Law School. He is the author of Freedom and Time: A Theory of Constitutional Self-Government (Yale University Press, 2001).

Ronald Wilson Reagan (1911-2004) was a baseball broadcaster, film and television actor, Governor of California, and the 40th President of the United States of America. In his eulogy at the National Funeral Service for Ronald Reagan, President George W. Bush remembered his thus: “He was optimistic that liberty would thrive wherever it was planted, and he acted to defend liberty wherever it was threatened.”

Jesse Helms represented North Carolina for five terms in the United States Senate before retiring in January 2003. As Chairman of the Foreign Relation Committee he was a leading advocate for United Nations reform. He is the author of Here’s Where I Stand : A Memoir (Random House, 2005)

John Lewis Gaddis is Robert A. Lovett Professor of History at Yale University. He expanded upon the essay included here in his most recent book, Surprise, Security, and the American Experience (Harvard University Press, 2004).

Phyllis Chesler is an Emerita Professor of Psychology and Women’s Studies and a columnist for Frontpage magazine and the Jewish Press. She is the author of The Death of Feminism : What’s Next in the Struggle for Women’s Freedom (Palgrave Macmillan, 2005)

Donna M. Hughes, Ph.D. is a professor and Eleanor M. and Oscar M. Carlson Endowed Chair in the Women’s Studies Program at the University of Rhode Island.

Orrin C. Judd is the writer-in-residence at He lives in Hanover, NH with his wife, Brooke, and three children: Griffin, Avery and Archer.

Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: